All 5 members appointed to Cannabis Control Commission

Opponents of marijuana legalization will outnumber supporters 4-to-1

NORTHAMPTON (WWLP) – The board responsible for regulating marijuana in Massachusetts is now in place. The final three members of the Cannabis Control Commission were appointed Friday.

The five members of the Cannabis Control Commission were selected by Governor Charlie Baker, Attorney General Maura Healey and state treasurer Deb Goldberg. Kay Doyle, Britte McBride and Shaleen Title were added to the commission on Friday and joined already selected members Steven Hoffman and Jennifer Flanagan.

Title and Doyle previously worked as legal counsel for the state’s medical marijuana program. McBride was an Assistant State Attorney General and has served as counsel for the Department of Public Safety.

Opponents of marijuana legalization will outnumber supporters 4-to-1. The group will be in charge of getting the legal marijuana industry up and running by next summer. The commission will also regulate the newly legal recreational market here in Massachusetts. The committee will be advised by a 25-member cannabis advisory board who will make recommendations on the laws and taxation of marijuana.

Monson resident Nicholas Flores told 22News, “If you can regulate it and have it legalized and have it overseen where there’s laws and regulations, it’s just better for society.”

Board members appointed to Cannabis Advisory Board

The Yes on 4 Coalition has long pushed for balance on the committee and a major concern is that the members don’t represent Massachusetts voters, who voted 56 percent in favor of Question 4.

Lawyer and former chairman of ‘Yes on 4’ told 22News he’s confident in the newly appointed commission.

“If they use hard evidence to establish the rules that govern this new industry, then they will be reasonable, they will be practical, and they will be enlightened rules,” Dick Evans said.

The commission must begin accepting licenses for retail, cultivation and manufacturing facilities by April 1.