What to know when starting a gluten-free diet


(CNN) – Before jump starting your gluten-free diet, it’s important to know a few things.

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, rye and barley and for some people with gluten allergies, avoiding those proteins are a must.

Probably the hardest thing you’ll have to give up once you begin your new regimen is bread.  Hamburger buns, bagels, muffins, they’re all off limits.

The good news, most grocery stores carry “gluten-free” products like bread, which are made out of either rice or potato flour.

Next on the list is pasta.  Luckily, you don’t have to entirely say good-bye to those Italian dishes.

Look out for gluten-free pasta made from corn or quinoa and what about dessert, you ask?

Unfortunately, since most cookies and cakes are made with wheat flour you’ll have to avoid them too. But, if you have a sweet tooth, most hard candies are gluten-free.

When it comes to alcohol, most beers are made with barley malt so you’ll want to skip the six-pack.

Wine and liquor are typically gluten-free.  Cheers to that.

Copyright CNN 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s