Massachusetts law will allow workers to earn paid sick time

Companies with 10 employees or fewer will be exempt from this law.

(WWLP) – As of July 1st, a law will go into effect benefiting workers in Massachusetts.

The new law allows workers to earn up to 40 hours of paid sick time in a year. Workers will earn one hour of sick time for every 30 hours they put in.

This law was approved by voters back in November and supporters are calling it the nation’s strongest paid sick time law. It will benefit one in three workers who are not currently entitled to sick days.

Edwin Rodriquez of Springfield told 22News, “I think it’s great, I mean a lot of jobs don’t offer that and with the new law we can actually get some money for days that we’re sick.”

Companies with 10 employees or fewer will be exempt from this law. Employers will be allowed to demand doctor’s notes for absences longer than three days.

Comments are closed.