SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (WWLP)– Getting sick is an inevitable part of life. Starting on July 1st, more than 1 million Massachusetts workers who are currently don’t get paid sick time off, will be allowed to earn paid hours when they or a family member they care for is sick.
The new law applies to all businesses throughout Massachusetts who have 11 or more employees.
That includes non-profit organizations like Dakin Humane Society. Executive Director Leslie Harris told 22News they’ve been getting ready for this new law since it was voted in as a ballot question in the last November election.
“We offer paid time off and we offer that to both our full time and our part time employees and really for us this is a matter of tweaking our existing policies to comply with the actual new laws,” Harris said.
She said for them and other small businesses, policies like these can be an added financial burden, but one that’s worthwhile to keep workers they invested time and training in to stay long term.
The new law allows employees to earn one hour of earned sick time for every 30 hours worked with a cap of 40 hours per year.
Employers who already have a paid time off policy in place have an extra 6 months to make the changes needed to get in line with the new law.