Umass sets up panel for Lowell chancellor search

BOSTON (STATE HOUSE) – University of Massachusetts trustees on Wednesday created a search committee tasked with helping find a successor to Marty Meehan, who is leaving his post at UMass Lowell to become president of the public university system.

The 24-person panel, headed by Norman Peters, is set to meet on Thursday at 9:30 a.m. in the university’s Inn & Conference Center in Lowell. Peters is a founding partner at the law firm Peters & Sowyrda and a member of the UMass Board of Trustees.

The committee, aided by a search firm, will come up with finalists and send those finalists to the UMass president, who then recommends a candidate to the UMass Board.

The agenda for its first meeting includes remarks from Meehan, an overview of the open meeting law and confidentiality from attorneys, and a public relations overview from UMass spokesman Robert Connolly.

Meehan, a former Massachusetts congressman, starts as UMass president on July 1. After an accelerated search, the UMass Board chose him May 1 over one finalist to succeed departing UMass President Robert Caret. Meehan has held the chancellorship since July 2007.

According to the Lowell Sun, Meehan said earlier this month that a successor could be hired by September and there could be no need for an interim chancellor.

“The search must be comprehensive, transparent and deliberate. The new Chancellor will have big shoes to fill,” UMass trustees chair Victor Woolridge said in a statement. “Our goal is to find the best person to take the torch from Chancellor Meehan and hit the ground running and not just maintain UMass Lowell’s momentum, but take the campus to new heights.”

The campus currently has 17,184 students and employs 2,071 faculty members and staffers. UMass Lowell started as a teaching college known as the Lowell Normal School in 1894.

According to the university, aside from Peters, the other members of the search committee are:

Lisa Abdallah, chairwoman and associate professor, School of Nursing, UMass Lowell

Lawrence Carpman, member of the UMass Board of Trustees and Partner, Northwind Strategies

Michael Carter, chairman and associate professor, Department of Economics, and president of the Faculty Senate, UMass Lowell

Julie Chen, vice provost for research, UMass Lowell

James Christopher, UMass Lowell Student Government Association president

Jerry Colella ’78, president and CEO, MKS Instruments

Nancy Donahue, community leader and co-founder of Merrimack Repertory Theatre

Robert Giles, professor of physics and director, Submillimeter Wave Technology Lab, UMassLowell

Anita Greenwood, dean of the Graduate School of Education, UMass Lowell

Charlie Hoff ’66, chairman, The Hoff Foundation Inc.

John F. Kennedy, former president and CFO, Nova Ventures Corp.

Margaret Koziel, assistant vice provost of clinical and translational research, UMass Medical School, and co-director of the Massachusetts Medical Device Development Center (M2D2)

Scott Latham, interim dean of the Manning School of Business, UMass Lowell

Charlotte Mandell, vice provost for undergraduate education, UMass Lowell

Stephen McCarthy, professor of plastics engineering, UMass Lowell, and co-director of the Massachusetts Medical Device Development Center (M2D2) and the Center for Irish Partnerships

Carol McDonough, professor of economics, UMass Lowell, and president of the Massachusetts Society of Professors Lowell

Keith Mitchell, associate professor of English, UMass Lowell

John Pulichino, chairman and CEO, Group III International Ltd.

Amanda Robinson, student trustee-elect, UMass Lowell

Dana Skinner, UMass Lowell director of athletics

Kumble Subbaswamy, chancellor, UMass Amherst

Marcellette Williams, UMass senior vice president for academic and student affairs and international relations

Margaret Xifaras, member of the UMass Board of Trustees and attorney, Law Offices of Lang, Xifaras & Bullard

Copyright 2015 State House News Service

Comments are closed.