Find out which representatives voted for the Keystone XL Pipeline

The House passed the bill 270 to 152 earlier this month

CHICOPEE, Mass. (WWLP) – It’s no surprise the president vetoed the bill: he promised he would if the Republican-led Senate and House voted for the bill. The House passed the bill 270 to 152 earlier this month on February 11th. That was after the Senate passed the measure on January 29, 62 to 36.

22News researched for you how your representatives voted for the measure. Congressman Jim McGovern and Richard Neal voted against the bill, as did every U.S. Representative in Massachusetts. On the Senate side, both Senators Elizabeth Warren and Edward Markey voted against the bill as well. 22News spoke with some people in Western Massachusetts who weren’t happy their representatives voted this way.

“I think it would be a good thing. I think it would create jobs not only in the oil and gas industry but all the runoff industries that supply the gas companies with parts,” said Fred Gula of Chicopee.

White House Spokesman Josh Earnest said the President vetoed the bill to protect the right to review the project rather than allow lawmakers to decide on it. The pipeline is controversial because it would move tar sands oil from Canada to the Gulf Coast refineries in the U.S. This isn’t the first time Congress has tried to pass the Keystone Pipeline bill and Republicans have said they will try again to pass it.

Comments are closed.