Springfield blanked by Wilkes-Barr/Scranton, 4-0

Springfield hosts Albany on Friday

Wilkes-Barre, Pa. – Matt Murray and the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins shut out the Springfield Falcons for the third time this season, topping them, 4-0, tonight at the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza.
The loss builds a seven-game winless streak for the Falcons and puts them at 26-16-4-0. The teams will meet once more this season to complete the four-game season series.
Falcons goaltender Scott Munroe stopped 22 of 26 shots in defeat. Murray registered another shutout against the Falcons, turning away all 28 shots. Power play success spelled the difference between the teams. Springfield was unable to convert on three opportunities, while Wilkes-Barre/Scranton scored on three of five man-advantages.
After a quiet first period, the Penguins struck with just over a minute remaining. While on the power play, Scott Wilson received a pass from Nick Drazenovic in the right circle. Wilson cut towards the net and lifted the puck over Munroe’s left shoulder to enter the first intermission leading the Falcons, 1-0.
The Penguins extended their lead early in the third frame. Bryan Rust carried the puck into the Falcons’ zone and threw a feed to Nick D’Agostino in the high slot. Munroe made a kick save on D’Agostino’s one-timer, but left the rebound out for Rust to clean up at the 4:07 mark.
Late in the third period, Ryan Craig was whistled for a high-sticking double minor followed shortly by a high-sticking minor on Brett Ponich, allowing Andrew Ebbett to strike twice in 55 seconds during 5-on-3 play. Ebbett notched both tallies on similar plays, one-timing shots from the right wing circle, to down the Falcons, 4-0.
Springfield returns home to the MassMutual Center to host the Albany Devils on Friday, Feb. 6 at 7 p.m.
Springfield Falcons ticket packages are on sale now. To reserve your seats, call (413) 739-GOAL (4625) or visit the team office inside the MassMutual Center Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. For all the latest Falcons information and updates, follow the back-to-back Northeast Division Champions at www.falconsahl.com or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/falconsahl and on Twitter (@TheFalconsAHL) using #SPRFalcons!

Comments are closed.