Voter guide: Who’s on Tuesday’s ballot?

(WWLP) – With the retirements of several incumbents, there are many “open” elections for major state and local offices this year. Not every candidate in the November general election faces a contested primary Tuesday, but primaries for offices such as governor, district attorney, state senator, and state representative will draw thousands to the polls for primary day.

Remember that 22News and are your home for up-to-the-minute election results on all screens. The polls are open from 7:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.

Here is a look at who’s on the ballot Tuesday: *Note that races that are not being officially contested are not listed*

Statewide offices:
There are contested Democratic and Republican primaries for governor, and contested Democratic races for lieutenant governor, treasurer, and attorney general.

Governor, Democratic Primary:

  • Donald Berwick
  • Martha Coakley
  • Steven Grossman

Governor, Republican Primary:

  • Charles Baker
  • Mark Fisher

Lieutenant Governor, Democratic Primary:

  • Leland Cheung
  • Steven Kerrigan
  • Michael Lake

Attorney General, Democratic Primary:

  • Maura Healey
  • Warren Tolman

Treasurer, Democratic Primary

  • Thomas Conroy
  • Barry Finegold
  • Deborah Goldberg

Hampden County District Attorney:
Interim District Attorney James Orenstein is not seeking a term of his own in office. There are no declared Republican or independent candidates in the race.

Democratic Primary:

  • Shawn Allyn
  • Hal Etkin
  • Anthony Gulluni
  • Brett Vottero

State Senate:
In the November general election, there are contested senate races in three districts here in western Massachusetts. In all three of them, there is a primary Tuesday on either the Democratic or Republican side.

1st Hampden and Hampshire
District includes all of Belchertown, East Longmeadow, Hampden, Granby, Longmeadow, Ludlow, and Wilbraham, and parts of Springfield and Chicopee.

Democratic Primary:

  • Timothy Allen
  • James “Chip” Harrington
  • Thomas Lachuisa
  • Eric Lesser
  • Aaron Saunders

2nd Hampden and Hampshire
District includes all of Agawam, Easthampton, Granville, Holyoke, Montgomery, Russell, Southampton, Southwick, Tolland, and Westfield, as well as part of Chicopee.

Democratic Primary:

  • Christopher Hopewell
  • Patrick Leahy

Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire, and Middlesex
District includes nearly all of western Worcester County, plus the towns of Brimfield, Holland, Monson, Palmer, and Wales in Hampden County, the town of Ware in Hampshire County, and the town of Ashby in Middlesex County.

Republican Primary:

  • Jim Ehrhard
  • Mike Valanzola

State House of Representatives:
There are contested primaries in several western Massachusetts House districts on Tuesday.

2nd Franklin
Includes all of the towns of Athol, Gill, Erving, New Salem, Orange, Petersham, Phillipston, Royalston, Templeton, Warwick, Wendell, and the northeast corner of Belchertown.

Republican Primary:

  • Karen Anderson
  • Susannah Whipps Lee

8th Hampden
Includes much of the city of Chicopee, including Aldenville, Willimansett, Fairview, Chicomansett Village, Sandy Hill, and parts of Chicopee Falls and Chicopee Center.

Democratic Primary:

  • William Courchesne
  • Joseph Wagner (incumbent)

9th Hampden
Includes portions of the Liberty Heights, East Springfield, Indian Orchard, Pine Point, Boston Road, and Sixteen Acres neighborhoods of Springfield, as well as a part of the Chicopee Falls neighborhood of Chicopee.

Democratic Primary:

  • Ed Collins
  • Peter Murphy
  • Jose Tosado

10th Hampden
Includes the westernmost portions of the city of Springfield, including part or all of the North End, Downtown, South End, Forest Park, Maple High-Six Corners, and Liberty Heights neighborhoods.

Democratic Primary:

  • Melvin Edwards
  • Carlos Gonzalez
  • Ivette Hernandez

11th Hampden
Includes central portions of the city of Springfield, including the Bay, McKnight, Upper Hill, Old Hill, and Pine Point neighborhoods, as well as portions of East Springfield, East Forest Park, and Sixteen Acres.

Democratic Primary:

  • Larry Lawson
  • Benjamin Swan (incumbent)

5th Worcester
Includes a single precinct in the Hampshire County town of Ware, as well as all of the towns of Barre, Brookfield, East Brookfield, Hardwick, Hubbardston, New Braintree, North Brookfield, Oakham, and West Brookfield, and most of the town of Spencer, all in Worcester County.

Democratic Primary:

  • Matthew Castriotta
  • George Yiantsidis

Republican Primary:

  • Donald R. Berthiaume, Jr.
  • Stephen Comtois
  • Jennifer Gaucher

For a look at the candidates who are not facing contested primaries, and are expected to be on the ballot in November, click here.

Comments are closed.