Netflix changes Facebook policy to protect your info

The new system allows subscribers to select which friends will receive their video

NEW YORK (NBC NEWS/WWLP) – Netflix is giving its subscribers a more discreet way to recommend movies and TV shows to their Facebook friends.

Until now, Netflix subscribers who linked their account with Facebook automatically shared everything they were watching with all their Facebook friends. After discovering most people don’t want to share their viewing habits with a large audience, Netflix changed the Facebook postings.

Danielle Hall of Chicopee told 22News, she notices more and more companies asking you to “sign up through Facebook,” and if you do, you could be giving away the right to your information.

“Signing up, you have to put in your email, a new password and everything. I think a lot of people figured it’s just easier and probably don’t even realize that everything is getting shared,” said Hall.

The new notification system allows subscribers to select which friends will receive their video recommendations via a Facebook message as opposed to a post on the customers’ Facebook profile page or the news feed.

blog comments powered by Disqus