Basketball Hall of Fame class of 2014 introduced

DALLAS (WWLP) – The Basketball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014 was announced in a news conference in Dallas Monday morning.

Some of the new inductees are:

  • Seven-time All-Star and two-time Defensive Player of the Year Alonzo Mourning.
  • Mitch Richmond, one of the NBA’s premier shooting guards in the 1990s.
  • Former Maryland and Boston College head basketball coach Gary Williams, who won more than 600 games, including Maryland’s only National Championship in 2002.
  • Former Arkansas Coach Nolan Richardson, who won a national championship with the Razorbacks, and had over 500 wins in his collegiate coaching career.
  • Recently retired N-B-A Commissioner David Stern.
  • Both Nathaniel “Sweetwater” Clifton and Guy Rodgers were honored posthumously.
  • Bob “Slick” Leonard who led the Indiana Pacers franchise to its only championships and won the most games in American Basketball Association history.
  • Lithuania star Sarunas Marciulionis was also selected by various committees.

The entire Hall Of Fame Class of 2014 will be enshrined in Springfield on August 8th.

blog comments powered by Disqus